Toybox · Vibrators

Wish by We-Vibe

When I first saw the new We-Vibe product, I was confused. There was a pocket of air between the outer skin and inner plastic of the inner curve of the toy. I wasn’t sure what to think of it; I figured it was some odd new design.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 12.27.24 AMWhen I got home and opened my own Wish, I didn’t have that air pocket along the inner curve. I did, however, have a large air bubble on the top of my toy, about the size of a quater. I would hate to think that a company with such fantastic products would resort to cheap glue, but that appears to be the case here [Edit: the air pockets have mysteriously disappeared from both vibrators …].

The Wish comes in We-Vibe’s standard, beautiful packaging: a white box with a watercolor accent on one side that matches the toy color. Included is a white storage bag and a charging cord. The Wish is much larger than I was expecting, larger than the Touch, larger than the Je Joue Mimi. However, it’s size fits the shape of my hand well. The texture of the Wish is reminiscent of the Tenga Iroha line in that the outer skin is deliciously squishy, though unlike the Tenga line, you can still easily feel the plastic form hidden underneath.

We-Vibe’s Wish is waterproof, and so can be used in the tub or shower; not only is the Wish waterproof, it is also best used with water-based lubricant, as silicone lubricant may react with the Wish’s silicone. The company’s silicone also, like most sex toy silicones, catches lint and pet hair easily. Therefore, if this toy does not meet your sexual needs, perhaps it would be better used as a lint roller or pet brush.Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 12.31.25 AM.png

The recent change in charging design never fails to confuse me. The Wish, unlike the Touch and Tango, has two flat metal magnets that look like what one would suspect to be buttons. While I know the silver magnets are for charging, I keep expecting something to happen when I push them. The actual button mimics that of the Tango and Touch: a single white bulb that allows you to cycle through the vibrations. To turn it off, simply hold down the button and wait, or cycle through all ten vibrations until it turns off.

When pleasuring genitals, there often is a point when your partner will tell you to keep going, “don’t stop,” “right there,” and so on. This does not mean that you should stop, that you should change the pattern or speed of what you are doing. This means to keep doing what you’re doing until your partner climaxes.

The Wish does not understand this rule.

When I first turned on this toy, I loved the rumbly feel on my hand. My vulva, on the other hand, didn’t know what to think of We-Vibe’s “powerpulse” technology. My Wish vibrates in short bursts, and then vibrates steadily, and then vibrates in short bursts(this inconsistency could be a problem with only my particular vibrator). I wasn’t sure if I was interested, or annoyed.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 12.29.32 AMIn the end, I decided on annoyed. I’ve never been one to use the pulse settings on any toy, and I wasn’t enjoying them this time. The Wish has no steady settings. I’m a steady-setting kind of girl. I found the pulsating vibrations to be distracting, and quickly gave up on trying to orgasm. To add to the frustration, the pulsing uses two motors. So rather than rumbly vibrations on the sweet spot, the vibrations go around it, and this is endlessly frustrating.

I am not one of those bloggers with the amazing ability to force an orgasm just for the sake of research. The amount of concentration it takes for me to stop concentrating during masturbation (and even partnered sex) is astronomical. It’s why I can use the Magic Wand and the Tango for upwards of ten minutes at a time without orgasming once. It is very difficult for me to get in the right headspace, and this is why patterns don’t work for me: they’re distracting, and I’m already very distracted by things I shouldn’t be thinking about during sex, like the bad day I had at work, or whether I remembered to change the cat litter.

Let me be clear: this is not a bad toy. It is strong, it is rumbly. BUT: PowerPulse technology is the fancy phrase We-Vibe uses to say that the Wish is a pattern-only vibrator. There are no steady speeds. If you read any random handful of vibration-related sex toy reviews, you will know that steady-speed lovers overwhelmingly outnumber pulse-lovers (I have never actually come across a pulse-appreciative article).

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 12.29.20 AMAs for the app, it gives a visual for the different settings offered, each option using a different color. The app works very well when my partner is nearby, though I have not yet had the opportunity to use the Wish long distance. As this is an external vibrator, I have faith that the app will work well. We-Vibe’s We-Vibe vibrator did not work so well (apparently a flesh barrier stops the app).

One thing I noticed when seeing the visual for the power pulse is that it is different from the pulse of my vibrator. As previously mentioned, my Wish doesn’t have a steady pulse; it’s rather erratic. I noticed this without the app, and seeing the visual has confirmed my suspicions.

I wish the Wish was what I’d built it up to be in my mind. When I engage in sexual activity, I’ll be reaching for We-Vibe’s Touch or Tango, not the Wish.

Wish comes in this Tiffany blue color. Get it for $119 from Betty’s Toy Box. I bought this toy, and based this article on my personal experiences.

Leave a Reply

