Sliquid Organics Natural Gel vs. Sliquid Naturals Sassy

Sliquid is a company beloved by many for its vegan, cruelty-free products. These products have a small ingredients list that refuses to include potentially harmful (i.e. sexually transmitted infection-causing) ingredients like glycerin or parabens.

Sliquid’s Naturals and Organics lines are made of corresponding lubricants, such as Sliquid H2O (water-based) and Sliquid Organics Natural (aloe-based). For this review, I am comparatively examining Sliquid Naturals Sassy (water-based gel lubricant; 2 oz.) and Sliquid Organics Natural Gel (Sassy’s aloe-based equivalent; 8 oz.). These lubricants are advertised for anal use due to their thicker consistency. However, I mainly use these lubricants vaginally.

CapturessssssAppearance, Design, and Advertising

First things first: I don’t love the caps on the bottles. A classic push cap, where you push one side down in order to get the other to open, is actually a great way for lube to collect around the opening. As I am a lazy person, I end up having to put extra effort into pushing down in order for the cap to push through the gunk and open, because I can’t be bothered with cleaning it after use. However, it’s better than a ketchup bottle cap.You either have air pushing out the ketchup to explode all over you, or a bunch of ketchup splattered around the opening so you can’t open the bottle.

Another critique on the bottles: the organic bottle is brown. I have never known why certain substances are bottled in brown containers, but whatever the reason, this makes it difficult to know when I need more lube. In order to see how much lube was left in the Organics bottle, I had to peel off the label and hold the bottle up to the light.

In order to better compare the information provided with the lubricants, I peeled the labels off each bottle, placed them next to the sample packets, and opened Sliquid’s website on my computer. I noticed that each item provides different of information. According to the website, the Organics bottle can be recycled, while the Sassy bottle cannot. However, the physical Sassy bottle asks users to recycle.Captures

Another difference is that the Organics bottle clarifies that it isn’t tested on animals, while the Sassy bottle does not. The Sassy bottle boasts of being cruelty-free and the Organics bottle doesn’t. In my mind, cruelty-free is a Capturessseparate concept from the lack of animal testing. The lists of great things about Sliquid (such as being vegan), as well as some important health facts (like being hypoallergenic), are included on the bottles but not on the sample packets. While this is likely due to the amount of available space, it would be great for Sliquid to share the same information on all their products. Not everyone is going to have access to the same information, because they will be using different products.

On the back of the Organics bottle, Sliquid states that it offers women a healthier choice, and that knowledge of sexual health and well-being will help women live more passionate lives. Something I strive to do in my blog is avoid using specific pronouns or singling out specific genders unless it is relevant or I am discussing someone specific. Rather than offering women a healthier choice, I like to think that Sliquid is offering everyone a healthier choice. I would like to see them address “people” rather than specifically “women.”

Ingredients

Sliquid Organics Natural Gel has more ingredients than Sliquid Naturals Sassy (Note: more ingredients does not mean that one is worse than the other!!). The ingredients found in both lubes are as follows:Captures

  • Purified water
  • Plant cellulose (from cotton)
  • Cyamopsis (guar conditioners)
  • Potassium sorbate (a white salt used as a food preservative)
  • Citric acid.

Sliquid’s website is kind enough to explain what each of these ingredients are (download a larger photo of the info sheet here). I also appreciate that Sliquid clarified their use of purified water, rather than tap water.

The ingredients that have been added to create the Organics lubricant are as follows:

  • Aloe Barbadensis
  • Natural tocopherols (vitamin E)
  • Extracts of hibiscus
  • Extract of flax
  • Extract of alfalfa
  • Extract of green tea
  • Extract of sunflower seed

Sliquid Sassy contains additional plant cellulose (when compared to Sliquid H2O) in order to create more padding for sexual activities such as anal. Sliquid Organics Natural Gel contains double the amount of plant cellulose as that of Sassy. Suffice it to say, the Organics lubricant is the thicker of the two.

Taste and Smell

Another difference between the two (likely due to the extra plant cellulose) is taste. These are not flavored lubricants, and, as such, don’t have much going on for flavor. The Organics lubricant has a distinct plant-y taste that Sassy lacks; of the two, I would rather Capturesshave Sassy in my mouth, as the plant taste isn’t pleasant in comparison. However, that’s not to say it is bothersome. Unless comparing the two, the plant flavor is not likely to leave much of an impression on the user.

Between the two lubricants, I could not detect a fragrance. This isn’t saying much, as I have a terrible nose. I find it comforting though. In my opinion, if you can smell it, you probably shouldn’t be putting it in your vagina.

In Use

Something to be aware of when using water-based lubricants: they will get tacky, depending. Depending on what, I am not entirely sure. The idea of water-based lubricant is that the water evaporates, so after a certain length of time, it gets tacky, and must either be reapplied or rejuvenated with water.

In my experience, using these lubricants with my toys never led to the lubes getting tacky (my average penetration time is probably between 2 and 5 minutes). The few times I have used water-based lubricant with my partner (largely my last semester of college. I was terribly stressed and my vagina was terribly dry) the lubricant seemed to dry up immediately upon contact with his penis.

When it comes to drying up, I have ultimately decided it depends on individual experience. I have had great experiences with each of these lubricants. My favorite of the two would be the Organics.

Capturess

While silicone lubricant has an oily texture, water-based has a cushy texture. Sassy is cushier than Sliquid H2O, and the Organics is cushier than Sassy. I am currently using a silicone lubricant with my glass and stainless steel toys that I love. The texture is completely different from that of water-based, but in using water-based, I tend to like the thicker lubricants more.

Currently, I’ll use Sassy from time to time on some of my smaller insertables. For Fun Factory toys, I use the Organics; it’s thicker, and that may keep it from being sucked up by their draggy silicone (many complain of Fun Factory’s lube-eating products. I myself have never had a problem with this). I also use it for my larger toys, such as Godemiche’s Adam. The thicker lubricant makes it easier for me to insert the larger dildos.

Final Thoughts

I enjoyed both of these lubricants for different reasons. I think Sliquid should be more consistent in the information they provide with their different packaging, but this does not mean that they are not an excellent company with excellent ethics.

Sassy is available for $8-$19 depending on bottle size (option of 2, 4.2, or 8 ounce), while the Organics is available for $13-$20 depending on bottle size (option of 4.2 or 8 ounce) from sliquid.com. .17 ounce samples should also be available at your local sex shop.

3 thoughts on “Sliquid Organics Natural Gel vs. Sliquid Naturals Sassy

Leave a Reply

