Stimulating Gels by Sliquid and Intimate Earth

Italics in the ingredients list indicate the information that I found concerning the ingredient next to which the italics is used.

I have been wary of stimulating creams for some time now. Early on in my work at a local sex shop, I tried a few external stimulating creams that mainly left my clit with a slight burning sensation, as well as a burning hatred toward stimulants. But, for the sake of a little research, here I am again, ready to talk about my experiences with stimulants.

I am starting this article with the all-important ingredients list. If the thought of reading an ingredients list bores you to tears, go ahead and skip down to the next heading.

Ingredients

Sliquid Organics O Gel contains vegan ingredients, consisting of:

  • Organic aloe barbadensis leaf juiceScreen Shot 2017-08-27 at 3.09.22 PM
  • Plant cellulose (from cotton)
  • Natural tocopherols (Vitamin E)
  • Cyamopsis (Guar /gum)
  • Peppermint Oil
  • Menthol
  • Organic extracts of hibiscus
  • Flax
  • Green tea & sunflower seed
  • Potassium sorbate
  • Citric acid

Intimate Earth Intense Clitoral Arousal Serum advertises organic ingredients, which are:

  • Aloe barbadensis leaf extract
  • Mentha arvensis leaf oil
  • Lycium barbarum (Goji) fruit extract
  • Cymbopogon schoenanthus extract
  • Citric acid

Non-organic ingredients in the clitoral arousal serum are:

  • Water
  • Propanediol (propylene glycol)
  • Polysorbate 20
  • Hydroxyethylcellulose (gelling and thickening agent)
  • Phenoxyethanol (preservative)
  • Hamamelis virginiana (Witch Hazel) extract arginine HCL
  • Menthyl lactate (contributes to the smell and flavor of peppermint)
  • Ethylhexylglycerin (topical skincare ingredient)

Intimate Earth Discover G-Spot Stimulating Serum also contains some organic ingredients, though the list is smaller than the clitoral arousal serum. Do not use the serum if you have an allergy to tree nuts, as one of the ingredients comes from macadamia nut oil:

  • Lycium barbarum (Goji) fruit extract
  • Cymbopogon Schoenanthus extract
  • Aloe barbadensis leaf extract

The non-organic ingredients list is extensive

  • Purified water (aqua)
  • Propanediol (propylene glycol)
  • PEG-16 macadamia glycerides (skin-conditioning agent from macadamia nut oil)
  • Phenoxyethanol (preservative)
  • Triethanolamine (pH adjuster)
  • Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent used as a thickener)
  • Menthyl lactate (contributes to the smell and flavor of peppermint)
  • Mentha arvensis leaf oil
  • Polysorbate 20
  • Ethylhexylglycerin (topical skincare ingredient)
  • Argenine HCL

In Use

Sliquid O Gel

Sliquid is a company most sex bloggers trust and use regularly. They avoid using ingredients like glycerin and parabens, and also sell themselves as a vegan, cruelty-free company. As such, after my lengthy stimulant hiatus, Sliquid was the first company I went to for testing stimulants for this article. If I trust anyone with my vagina gunk, it’s Sliquid.

On the front of the package, O Gel is simply advertised as stimulating, without stating the specific area on which the O Gel should go. It wasn’t until I flipped the package over that I saw, in small shiny silver print, that it is specifically a clitoral arousal gel. As I didn’t seeScreen Shot 2017-08-28 at 9.17.25 PM this until after using it, for this review I tested it as both a clitoral and g-spot arousal gel.

When I initially spread the O Gel over my clitoris, I didn’t feel much of anything. While I claim a clit of titanium, this is with sensation over the hood of my clit, as my clit itself tends to be over-sensitive to things like fingers and toys. With the next coat, I made an effort to get a bit under the hood, which is when I felt the slight cooling sensation of the O-Gel.

The subtle sensation was not particularly arousing, but as someone who has previously used cooling lubricant, I found it to be a pleasant sensation. I felt the cooling within about a minute of application, and it lasted about three to four minutes. The cooling is comparable to how mint feels on the tongue. Cool, fresh, strong, but not unpleasant.

On my g-spot, I tested it in two ways. By putting the gel on my finger and inserting it in my vagina to use it on my g-spot, I felt the gentle cooling. It was more of a turn-on than using it clitorally, but felt more like an added bonus rather than a stimulating sensation.Next, I combined the O Gel with lube and a dildo. Using it this way, I couldn’t feel any of the O Gel. This could be due either to its subtlety, or to me not using enough of it.

So, does their stimulant cream live up to the high expectations of their other products? In my experience, the O Gel was a decent stimulant. Decent here meaning: it didn’t burn. It wasn’t strong enough of a sensation to be particularly arousing, but it’s subtle sensation makes it an excellent stimulant, especially after the overpowering sensation of the bad stimulants of previous experience.

Intimate Earth Intense Clitoral Arousal Serum

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 9.20.00 PMIntimate Earth is a company a co-worker of mine came across at the sex shop. Besides various arousal gels, Intimate Earth also has a line of massage oils and lubricants. They list a few organic substances in their ingredients, and the website states that their products are not tested on animals. The home page of the site declares that their products do not contain parabens, benzocaine, glycerin, and aspartame.

When I put Intense on my clit, I felt it almost immediately. A kind of sharp, yet not unpleasant cold, comparable to putting Biofreeze on sore muscles. I took more notice of the feeling on my clit than I did with the Sliquid, and the chill lasted about three to five minutes.

Once I knew I liked it, I added more to my clit and grabbed a vibrator. What followed was an intense clitoral orgasm that I thoroughly enjoyed. My clit gives Intense an A+. However, please note that a little bit of this stuff goes a long way, so make sure to start off with a small amount.

Intimate Earth Discover G-Spot Stimulating Serum

Like the O Gel, I tested Discover in two ways, starting with a little on my finger, which I put on my g-spot. This one was slower than the Intense; I felt it within about a minute. ItScreen Shot 2017-08-28 at 9.22.51 PM also lasted longer than the Intense, sticking around for about eight minutes. It has a stronger sensation than the O Gel, and like Intense, is comparable to putting Biofreeze on sore muscles. While the cooling sensation was nice enough, it didn’t do as much for me as the Intense.

For the next test, I used Discover with some lube (Sliquid H2O) and a dildo. This felt good, but the orgasm wasn’t as intense as with the Intense. This may be due to the lube that got mixed with it, likely creating a kind of watered-down effect. What I discovered when I took out the dildo, though, made Discover a no-go for me.

Picture a gel-like substance in a bottle (example: rubber glue). When it dries, you peel it off, roll it between your fingers, and looks like a small, squishy white rubbery ball. When I took out the dildo, something like that was spread all over the dildo, along with lube and vag gunk. The first word that came to my mind was: curdled. It looked like the gel had curdled to leave these rolled gel balls all over the dildo. Suffice it to say, it was kind of gross to look at.

Thoughts

I don’t find stimulating creams to be arousing on their own; it’s more like they just draw my attention to my genital area. While these stimulants have given me pleasant feelings, on their own they kind of feel like what mint tastes like. Shocking, cold, surprising, and ultimately enjoyable. However, they are not arousing on their own.

It is therefore my impression that one reason the customers at the store I worked in bought so many stimulating creams and praised them is that putting them on requires touching yourself or someone else. The arousal brought on by touch, along with a little sensational extra is likely to create an interesting psychological insight (for me, it brings to mind the multiple studies on sugar pills. On their own, they are just food substance. With a little belief thrown in, they do fascinating things).

While stimulants can be very lube-like due to their watery gel consistency, they are not a substitute for lubricant. Lubricants from reputable companies like Sliquid contain ingredients that are not only great for keeping you well-lubricated, but in my opinion are more likely to work well with various bodies. Stimulants can include extra ingredients not found in lubes (or at least good lubes) that can be very irritating to the genital area. Test with small amounts of a stimulant before use during sex to make sure it doesn’t produce a burning sensation like the first few I tried.

Overall, the Intimate Earth Clitoral Arousal Serum was my favorite, but I am more likely to recommend Sliquid O Gel because it’s far more subtle, and therefore likely to be user friendly to more people, at least to begin with, if you feel like experimenting with stimulating gels.

I received this product from Erotique  in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Sliquid O Gel can be purchased from Sliquid for $18 for one fluid ounce, or for $24 you can get a Cube, which is box of 12 pillow packs amounting  to 4.08 fluid ounces. Intimate Earth Intense and Discover can be purchased from Betty’s Toy Box for $23 and $20 respectively.

One thought on “Stimulating Gels by Sliquid and Intimate Earth

Leave a Reply

