Echo, Echo Supersoft, and Echo Handle by Tantus

My first Tantus toy was a product of much deliberation at the dildo wall. I worked at a local adult store, and had learned enough about this company that I wanted to make sure I would pick something really great. Most of the options at work were flesh-toned or purple, and as much as I enjoy a good purple, it’s a pretty common color. I eventually decided on a white pearlescent Echo, not only because of the color, but because of the similarity of it’s large wavy shape to my much beloved Fun Factory Semolino.

Screen Shot 2017-09-04 at 12.11.42 PMMy second Echo was the result of a new affiliate relationship with Tantus, through which I acquired the new Echo Supersoft in a gorgeous, deep wine color. When I went to the Woodhull Sexual Freedom Summit, I got my third Echo from a fellow blogger, the Echo Handle.

All versions of the Echo, as well as the rest of Tantus’s products come in their trademark packaging: cute colored bubbles splattered across a white box that has far too much space for the toy inside (this is my only issue with the company; I hope they work on being more environmentally friendly). The Echo comes with a silver bullet that takes an N battery, while the Supersoft and Handle do not. On Tantus’ website, the Echo can be found in the Vibrator section, while the Handle and Supersoft are housed under Dildos.

Echo and the Handle are made of a smooth, hard, plastic-textured silicone, while the Supersoft comes in a squishy, rubbery, soft silicone. Water-based lubricant should be Screen Shot 2017-09-04 at 11.24.21 AMused with each of the Echos, and the Handle and Echo can be easily cleaned with soap and water, or sterilized with a 10% bleach solution for use with a partner. The Supersoft can also be sterilized, but the silicone is one that I’ve almost given up on really cleaning. No amount of soap and water can really clean the almost tacky silicone, and I’ve come to terms with the fact that my vagina probably has a light coating of cat hair and lint.

The Echo, as I stated earlier, has large, delicious waves down one side. I have become a fan of this asymmetrical texture as of late. It allows for smoother thrusting on the back side of my vagina, while my g-zone is rubbed by wave after wave of silicone. Large texture like on the Semolino and Echo works well for me, as smaller ribs, and especially anything studded, feels abrasive and uncomfortable.

I agree with Epiphora’s preference of enjoying the Echo one ripple at a time, rather than thrusting with abandon. Each wave goes a long way with sensation, and it feels sublime Screen Shot 2017-09-04 at 11.43.45 AMas the individual ripples rub firmly against my g-zone. I have found the waves to be externally stimulating as well, as each one tugs lightly on the skin surrounding my vaginal opening.

The silver bullet that comes with Echo is a decent bullet vibe, better than most watch battery bullet vibes, but it would be more convenient if it used a AA or AAA battery. It
isn’t as orgasm-worthy as the We-Vibe Tango, but it could get someone off. I like it well enough inside the Echo, as I like weaker vibrations in my insertable vibrators, but those who like stronger insertable vibes will, again, likely prefer using We-Vibe Tango inside the Echo.

I prefer to use the Echo without the bullet. Dildos with a base like the Echo and Supersoft are great for using with strap-ons, but not so great for holding on to. Holding the dildo itself takes away from the length, and can become slippery from internal juices. However, dildos with bullet holes on the bottom like the Echo provide an opportunity for an easier hold. I like stuffing two fingers up to the first knuckle or so into the bullet hole Screen Shot 2017-09-04 at 11.24.04 AMand thrusting that way, rather than wrapping my hand around the base. This way, I can control most of the movement and the angle of the toy. Added to the thrill of it all is the idea of fingering myself, just with a dildo extension.

The Supersoft, not having the bullet hole, is held by the base. While bases are not the most comfortable way to hold a dildo, it’s something I’ve gotten used to doing, and a small price to pay for pleasurable experiences.

Something else to note about the Supersoft, or at least my Supersoft, is that it has what can only be described as stretch marks. These could possibly be from pulling the dildo from it’s mold, the silicone stretching until striations formed. The marks do not appear to affect the quality of the toy, nor are they felt in use.

Using the Supersoft feels almost exactly like using the Echo, just a little softer. Because of this, I think I ultimately prefer the hard plastic texture of the Echo, as I find pleasure in firmer dildos (also, the original Echo is just so much easier to clean). However, the Screen Shot 2017-09-04 at 11.43.30 AMsensations are similar that I would really be happy with either one. In a dildo like this, there’s enough texture from the wavy form that the silicone itself doesn’t make much of a difference.

The Echo Handle is an attempt to make dildos easier to hold onto than by wrapping your fingers around a circular base. I have yet to see another company try to put a handle on a dildo. The handle of the Echo is an extension of the dildo, with finger indentations to help with grip. The silicone itself changes texture from the dildo to the handle, going from a smooth, hard plastic texture (the same texture as the original Echo) to a rougher, softer silicone texture to encourage grip in spite of lubricant and internal juices. Do I like the Handle better than the Supersoft, which has a base, or the Echo with it’s bullet hole? Yes and no.

Screen Shot 2017-09-04 at 11.23.47 AMThe handle on the Handle, while allowing for a better grip, also means that my hand is farther away from my body than a dildo with a base. The Handle could be great for people larger than I am because of this, but for me it’s just a lot of extra length. The bases on dildos also provide a way for toys to be used with strap-ons, while the Handle would not stay in a strap-on. Overall, I think I prefer the Echo with it’s bullet hole, but I am also a person with very long, skinny fingers. That said, I think more dildo should come with the option of a handle.

The Echo is an excellent toy in all its forms for those who like big textures on their toys. The original Echo is my favorite of the three, but I would be very happy to have any version of the Echo. There’s one for people like me who love a good, hard dildo, one for people who favor a softer touch, and one that encourages a better hand grip. The most important thing about the Echo is that it offers options that almost no other toy comes in.

The Echo can be found in this Pearl White or Midnight Purple for $76. The Echo Supersoft is available in this Wine color as well as Purple Haze for $75, while the Echo Handle comes in Midnight Purple for $61. I received the Echo Supersoft from Tantus in exchange for an honest review. I bought the Echo, and received the Echo Handle from a fellow blogger. This article is based on my personal experiences, and all opinions are my own.

One thought on “Echo, Echo Supersoft, and Echo Handle by Tantus

Leave a Reply

